Hear the Key West "Voices of History™" on our Phone Tour (305) 507-0300
Come experience 120 Historic Markers in the Largest Historic District of Frame Buildings in the United States. See photos and listen to the history and stories these buildings have to tell. Take a self-guided tour and discover a little piece of paradise.
The two story, double portico building is the second oldest house in KeyWest. Originally built as a two room house in 1834 by British Captain Carey, who made his money in the whole-sale liquor business. Enlarged in 1844 as a gift to his bride. Robert Frost spent 16 fruitful winters in the writers' cottage located in the gardens behind the house.
Built by Captain Hellings who was the manager of the International Ocean Telegraph Co. His wife was the daughter of William Curry, Floridaâ€™s first millionaire. The Key West Womanâ€™s Club purchased the home in 1940 and operated one half of the house as the only public library in Monroe County.The carriage house behind the building is home to the Red Barn Theatre.
The Trev-Mor Hotel, one of Key Westâ€™s first hotels. Built with bricks from Fort Taylor dating back to 1845. It featured a car dealership on the first floor and hotel rooms on the upper two floors.Ernest Hemingway and his wife stayed here in 1928 and penned "A Farewell to Arms" from his second story room.The hotel was converted to a private residence and renamed Casa Antigua in 1978.
The fire of 1886 missed this single family house by 20 feet.A portion of the first floor was rebuilt at street level in 1889 for a â€œGents Goodsâ€ store. The storefront saw a succession of commercial uses through the years and the house became a boarding house in the early 1900â€™s.Restored in 1987 and enlarged in 1993 with the addition of two neighboring historic buildings.
This is the tallest building in Key West. Ernest Hemingway paid homage to the hotel in To Have or Have Not and Tennessee Williams finished A Streetcar Named Desire during his stay in 1946.The hotelâ€™s fortunes have risen and fallen in tandem with the island but the bar on the top floor has never gone out of style.
This building holds the dual distinction of being one of the oldest commercial structures in Key West and the oldest remaining drug store building. Dr. John Maloney opened the Key West Drug Company in 1903. In 1908 he purchased the adjacent building at 532 Fleming and opened the first public hospital. In 1911 he acquired 504 Simonton connecting the buildings with a raised walkway .
Originally a four room house built on Whitehead Street in the late 1820â€™s by Richard Cussans a shipâ€™s carpenter. The structure was moved to its current location in 1829 and expanded for Captain Francis Watlington to accommodate his wife and nine daughters. The Captainâ€™s descendants lived in the house until the 1970â€™s. This is considered the oldest house in South Florida.
William Wall came to Key West in 1824 as a shipwreck victim. Seven years later he had amassed a substantial fortune as a pioneer in the islandâ€™s burgeoning cigar industry. Behind the building were docks and â€œcoaling stationsâ€ used to supply steam-powered ships. The warehouse was converted into Naval Station #2 and became a vital supply link for the United States Navy during the Spanish American War in 1898.
Built as a two story house and later expanded with a rare third story mansard roof with gabled dormers. Dr. Porter was born here in 1847 and died in the room of his birth 80 years later. Dr. Porter was Floridaâ€™s first Public Health Officer. His medical research and involvement in yellow fever epidemics is credited with the eradication of yellow fever in Florida.