Built by Captain Hellings who was the manager of the International Ocean Telegraph Co. His wife was the daughter of William Curry, Floridaâ€™s first millionaire. The Key West Womanâ€™s Club purchased the home in 1940 and operated one half of the house as the only public library in Monroe County.The carriage house behind the building is home to the Red Barn Theatre.
The Trev-Mor Hotel, one of Key Westâ€™s first hotels. Built with bricks from Fort Taylor dating back to 1845. It featured a car dealership on the first floor and hotel rooms on the upper two floors.Ernest Hemingway and his wife stayed here in 1928 and penned "A Farewell to Arms" from his second story room.The hotel was converted to a private residence and renamed Casa Antigua in 1978.
Built as a two story house and later expanded with a rare third story mansard roof with gabled dormers. Dr. Porter was born here in 1847 and died in the room of his birth 80 years later. Dr. Porter was Floridaâ€™s first Public Health Officer. His medical research and involvement in yellow fever epidemics is credited with the eradication of yellow fever in Florida.
The two story, double portico building is the second oldest house in KeyWest. Originally built as a two room house in 1834 by British Captain Carey, who made his money in the whole-sale liquor business. Enlarged in 1844 as a gift to his bride. Robert Frost spent 16 fruitful winters in the writers' cottage located in the gardens behind the house.
The fire of 1886 missed this single family house by 20 feet.A portion of the first floor was rebuilt at street level in 1889 for a â€œGents Goodsâ€ store. The storefront saw a succession of commercial uses through the years and the house became a boarding house in the early 1900â€™s.Restored in 1987 and enlarged in 1993 with the addition of two neighboring historic buildings.