This place of worship was named for Saint Stephen who is recognized as the first Christian martyr. He was stoned to death for his views on poverty and the role of the early church. The structure is built from locally quarried lime stone and coral rock. The exposed open beam and plank roof structure is still evident when viewed from the interior of the building. The church closed in 1940 and has gone through a series of other uses since then.